Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums  

Go Back   Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums > Aviation Photography > Aviation Photography Q&A

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread August 30th, 2011, 04:28 PM
viper01's Avatar
viper01 viper01 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 595
Default To much noise?

Hey guys,

I'm having a bit of problems with my camera (EOS-400D).
I find it has to much noise, even in low ISO settings.
The camera is mostly used with the Canon 100-400 USM IS L lens.

Does some one know what it is causing this problem?
Can t has something to do with a setting?
Or has it some to do with my editing? (any tips?)

Example of a un-edited image, I only made it a .JPeg from .CS2 file.



Exif data:
Camera Canon EOS 400D Digital
Exposure 0.003 sec (1/400)
Aperture f/7.1
Focal Length 340 mm
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire
Orientation Horizontal (normal)
X-Resolution 240 dpi
Y-Resolution 240 dpi

Thanks!

Remy..

Last edited by viper01; August 30th, 2011 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread September 5th, 2011, 06:32 PM
Incaroad's Avatar
Incaroad Incaroad is offline
What is accuracy anyway?
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: China Lake CA.
Posts: 362
Default

I looked at your picture and then put it through Photoshop.

What I saw was a shot that is a little over exposed and because of the haze in the background I don't blame you for overexposing it.

I thank Mr. David Brown for suggesting to use Noise Ninja.

I downloaded your picture and put it through Noise Ninja and all the noise just disappeared. I then made a layer changed it to an overlay and it popped a lot more color out. Then I made another layer and used High pass to sharpen it up a bit and after those few steps I think it looked as good as it could. I can't re-post your picture as I didn't ask your permission, I didn't even save what I did to it to make it look the way it came out.

I was also interested in why you took the photo in ISO 200? Looks like you had plenty of latitude to shoot in ISO 100 with little problem.


If you've not looked at Noise Ninja before I would suggest you do and then invest.

Just my 2˘
__________________
Cheers!
Larry McCarley
21045
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread September 5th, 2011, 07:48 PM
Niko@inScale's Avatar
Niko@inScale Niko@inScale is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Serbia, Niš
Posts: 364
Default

I agree that the noise is produced primarily as a result of the haze, but not only in the background. But I strongly prefer Imagenomic Noiseware Professional over Noise Ninja. I was always able to produce much better results even i a situation where I was thought that I'm lost. In my opinion a much advanced algorithms are implemented in Noiseware.

I was corrected the photo in a few steps just to show you that you can get a nice image from this one. With more time and fine tuning you can get a lot better result.

__________________
http://zone-five.net/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=130987&dateline=13291  25922
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread September 7th, 2011, 03:01 PM
viper01's Avatar
viper01 viper01 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 595
Default

Thanks for the replies!
I have Noise Ninja installed in CS5, I think I'm doing something wrong.
Will have a look at some Noise ninja tutorials.

Remy..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread September 7th, 2011, 05:51 PM
Niko@inScale's Avatar
Niko@inScale Niko@inScale is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Serbia, Niš
Posts: 364
Default

I would strongly recommend you to switch to Noiseware. Much better results. Better NR filter and much more details is kept on the photo.



As for NN:

In case you don't have a profile for your camera, press the button "Profile image" marked with red outline. This will command NN to analyse the picture and to create profile by finding uniform zones which can be used for noise analysis.



You will get something like on the image bottom. Look at the squares created by NN (red lines on the left image point on these). These will be used for calculation of noise pasterns and NR job. You can add more calculation zones by yourself, bu try to aim the uniform part of image.



Here you can play a little with the two sliders outlined in red. These two are for setting the overall sharpness of the image. Most of the noise is Luminance noise, so you can play a little with above three slider to see the effects.
The Turbo radio button I usually keep unchecked, but doesn't make some real difference. If you have some coarse type of noise on image you can check in Coarse noise radio button


If you set this tab as you see on the photo, NN will perform all above steps automatically upon you call him from Photo shop. All you have to do then is to fine tune image manually if needed.




All above is valid if you don't using the prepared camera profiles!

In case that you want to use the prepared profiles for your camera (free to download from Picture Code site), then set up the parameters as on next two images and NN will perform NR based on the loaded profile for your camera and according to EXIF data he can read from image.
After that, you might still wanted to fine tune the image manually.






You will still needed to perform additional settings from Photo Shop. As you gaining the experience, you will be able to determine what to do before activation of Noise filter and what after. This strongly depends on image quality and type of image.

I hope that I was of some help. Not much, but will be enough for start.

And again, I strongly recommending the Imagenomic Noiseware Professional. You will not be able to get that level of quality with Noise Ninja.
__________________
http://zone-five.net/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=130987&dateline=13291  25922

Last edited by Niko@inScale; September 7th, 2011 at 05:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread September 8th, 2011, 12:27 PM
Banker's Avatar
Banker Banker is offline
shibboleet
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in the garage
Posts: 1,821
Default

Is Noiseware a plug-in exclusive to Pshop? or is there a stand-alone version?
__________________
Quote:
Time Wounds All Heels
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread September 8th, 2011, 01:21 PM
Niko@inScale's Avatar
Niko@inScale Niko@inScale is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Serbia, Niš
Posts: 364
Default

Nope! There are stand alone version as well!
__________________
http://zone-five.net/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=130987&dateline=13291  25922
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread September 8th, 2011, 02:01 PM
Banker's Avatar
Banker Banker is offline
shibboleet
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in the garage
Posts: 1,821
Default

Cool thanks. Can't afford PShop, PElements etc, my meager budget only allows me to own Corel Paint Shop.
__________________
Quote:
Time Wounds All Heels
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread September 8th, 2011, 04:15 PM
viper01's Avatar
viper01 viper01 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 595
Default

Niko, thank you for taking the time for this reply!
I really appreciate it!
I will try it out this weekend! I'm also going to look for Noiseware.

Remy..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread September 11th, 2011, 05:51 AM
polybebber's Avatar
polybebber polybebber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: German Outback
Posts: 460
Default

Until now I've dealt with noise using the PSE feature. Following Nikos recommendation I've downloaded a free 15 day test version of Noiseware Professional and I'm quite impressed. Even at default settings it delivers excellent results and playing around with it makes the result even better. I've used it as the last step after processing and sharpening. I don't have Noise Ninja so I can't compare, but Noiseware does an excellent job. It's a keeper for me.
Lothar
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread September 11th, 2011, 06:40 AM
polybebber's Avatar
polybebber polybebber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: German Outback
Posts: 460
Default

Pictures were taken well after midnight (midsummer midnight airshow) in Finland, camera opted for ISO 3200 so there was a lot of noise.

Original as taken by the camera:


After some sharpening and running through Noiseware:


Original as taken by the camera:


After some sharpening and running through Noiseware:


I didn't manage to reduce the noise with PSE as good as with Noiseware. Pictures are still not perfect, but a lot better than the originals.

Lothar

Lothar
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.