Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums  

Go Back   Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums > General Modeling Discussion > The Toolbox

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 02:15 PM
f-15ERJ145's Avatar
f-15ERJ145 f-15ERJ145 is offline
If it ain't Boeing...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5,060
Default Compressor Moisture

My compressor has a moisture trap and is still spitting out water!!! WTF IS GOING ON????!!!
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 05:51 PM
ORANGF15Guy's Avatar
ORANGF15Guy ORANGF15Guy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,522
Default

Hey Chris,
Is your trap in line on your air hose or is it mounted right to your compressor?
I've had the same issues with a trap that was in line and switched to the trap off of the compressor and haven't had an issue since. FYI
__________________
Brad

On the Board:
F-15C "Splinter" Camo
F-16D Oklahoma ANG
F-4C Oregon ANG
St. Louis F-15C
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 06:36 PM
f-15ERJ145's Avatar
f-15ERJ145 f-15ERJ145 is offline
If it ain't Boeing...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5,060
Default

Idk...tell me what you think...

__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 06:56 PM
ORANGF15Guy's Avatar
ORANGF15Guy ORANGF15Guy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,522
Default

That's pretty much the same way I've got mine set up....right out of the compressor.......I had so many issues with the in line kind that I went to the way you've got yours set up and haven't had an issue since! Hope you get it figured out....It's a PITA to get paint on a model and have it turn to crap because of moisture coming through the line.
Let me know what you figure out.
__________________
Brad

On the Board:
F-15C "Splinter" Camo
F-16D Oklahoma ANG
F-4C Oregon ANG
St. Louis F-15C
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 07:06 PM
f-15ERJ145's Avatar
f-15ERJ145 f-15ERJ145 is offline
If it ain't Boeing...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ORANGF15Guy View Post
That's pretty much the same way I've got mine set up....right out of the compressor.......I had so many issues with the in line kind that I went to the way you've got yours set up and haven't had an issue since! Hope you get it figured out....It's a PITA to get paint on a model and have it turn to crap because of moisture coming through the line.
Let me know what you figure out.
It maybe because my pressure was jacked up to high.
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 07:20 PM
ORANGF15Guy's Avatar
ORANGF15Guy ORANGF15Guy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,522
Default

How high is high?
__________________
Brad

On the Board:
F-15C "Splinter" Camo
F-16D Oklahoma ANG
F-4C Oregon ANG
St. Louis F-15C
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 07:38 PM
f-15ERJ145's Avatar
f-15ERJ145 f-15ERJ145 is offline
If it ain't Boeing...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ORANGF15Guy View Post
How high is high?
Bout 60...I'm gonna bring it down to 12-16.
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 07:47 PM
ORANGF15Guy's Avatar
ORANGF15Guy ORANGF15Guy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,522
Default

That range is about what I paint at......hopefully that's the issue and it's a quick fix!
__________________
Brad

On the Board:
F-15C "Splinter" Camo
F-16D Oklahoma ANG
F-4C Oregon ANG
St. Louis F-15C
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 08:05 PM
meagap's Avatar
meagap meagap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,536
Default

I have a water trap at the hose end where it attaches to the airbrush, as well as the one on the compressor.


Last edited by meagap; November 9th, 2015 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread November 9th, 2015, 08:20 PM
f-15ERJ145's Avatar
f-15ERJ145 f-15ERJ145 is offline
If it ain't Boeing...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meagap View Post
I have a water trap at the hose end where it attaches to the airbrush, as well as the one on the compressor.

I'm gonna invest it this
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread December 20th, 2015, 04:22 PM
beal0611 beal0611 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Central Ohio
Posts: 144
Default 60 psi?

Yo Bro, 60 psi is prolly your problem. I have never shot that high except when shooting lacquer thinner through after a painting session to clean out my gun. Even then, I usually don't go much higher that 40-50. I hope that dropping your pressure took care of the problem. And you say?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread December 20th, 2015, 06:35 PM
Banker's Avatar
Banker Banker is offline
shibboleet
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,830
Default

Part of your problem is that the compressed air is hottest right at the compressor discharge and the moisture is still a vapor. As the hot compressed air cools in the line between the trap and your airbrush the vapor moisture condenses in the line to a liquid state. I could get into the thermodynamics of it but that's the basics.

Try mounting a couple of feet of copper line to the discharge side of your compressor, (coil it up to take up less space) and move your water trap after the copper line and closer to the airbrush. The copper line will allow a lot of heat to transfer from the compressed air and the resulting condensation will be trapped by your filter.

edit: look at this youtube video and imagine your compressed air going thru the copper instead of ice water.
__________________
Quote:
Time Wounds All Heels

Last edited by Banker; December 20th, 2015 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread December 20th, 2015, 08:08 PM
f-15ERJ145's Avatar
f-15ERJ145 f-15ERJ145 is offline
If it ain't Boeing...
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5,060
Default

All good info and I appreciate it. Since I've brought my pressure down to about 18 psi, I haven't had any issues.
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread December 20th, 2015, 09:28 PM
Banker's Avatar
Banker Banker is offline
shibboleet
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,830
Default

Less pressure means less heat in the compressed air.
__________________
Quote:
Time Wounds All Heels
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread January 3rd, 2016, 02:10 PM
beal0611 beal0611 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Central Ohio
Posts: 144
Default PSI

Good to hear that the fix was simply turning a knob. When you said 60psi, I thought that you were painting T-Shirts instead of models! Just kidding bro. Those are the kind of fixes that we wish took care of everything.

Last edited by beal0611; January 3rd, 2016 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread December 6th, 2016, 10:27 PM
MarcJackson's Avatar
MarcJackson MarcJackson is offline
Turbo Turtle
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 645
Default

Just a thought but has anyone ever tried a DIY approach using silica gel, you know the stuff in packets which are packed with shoes and electrical items. You can buy these sachets on good old ebay cheaply. What about placing a small amount inside a standard moisture trap?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread August 14th, 2018, 12:03 PM
intruder500's Avatar
intruder500 intruder500 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Vermont
Posts: 2,412
Default

MarcJackson:

Isn't that what is in the throw aways? Usually can be found at auto parts stores for car painting. Last for about one car, but used on an airbrush, will last for months. This is what I use off my compressor. Works pretty decent. Not a lot of money either. Desiccant filters is the name of them I think.

Stephen C.
"Spaz"
Intruder500
__________________
These Guys will put it anywhere you want it...
It's just a question of how close to you
do you dare put it!
ANY WEATHER!
ANY TIME!

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread August 14th, 2018, 09:57 PM
Midnight Tech Midnight Tech is offline
Administrator/Tweaker
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Not in Texas anymore...
Posts: 322
Default

Check your local NAPA (for those in the US and Canada) for an MS MCD122. Two pack of the "egg" filters automotive painters use.
__________________
F-22 and a CH-46 in the hanger - OV-1D and a Viper waiting in the stash...
Reg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.