Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums  

Go Back   Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums > Modeling Forums > Dioramas

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread September 14th, 2010, 01:31 PM
Maverick's Avatar
Maverick Maverick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern Norf Cackalacky
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to Maverick
Default What do you use for an in flight dio?

Gathering stuff for an in flight dio with a cheap kit. What do you guys use to keep the plane off the ground? I was thinking of that clear rod stuff, but not sure where to get it.

Any ideas, suggestions or pics would be great!

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread September 14th, 2010, 02:23 PM
Lenny's Avatar
Lenny Lenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 479
Default

This question was just brought up over on ARC.

http://www.arcforums.com/forums/air/...owtopic=216403
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread September 14th, 2010, 02:27 PM
Maverick's Avatar
Maverick Maverick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern Norf Cackalacky
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to Maverick
Default

ah thanks lenny. i looked over there, but i was under the wrong topic...was looking under the dio..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread September 19th, 2010, 02:28 PM
bru(no) bru(no) is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: belgium
Posts: 3
Default

I would suggest piano wire; .5mm; paint it black etc...
Bruno
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread October 27th, 2010, 11:10 PM
Jon Kunatz's Avatar
Jon Kunatz Jon Kunatz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 314
Default

Acryllic rod maybe?
__________________
"Pi r*2.....I thought Pie are round."

http://th01.deviantart.com/fs6/300W/..._PeeEssPee.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread October 28th, 2010, 02:48 AM
Jens H. Brandal's Avatar
Jens H. Brandal Jens H. Brandal is offline
Trust me, I'm an engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,257
Default

You can use anything you like, and all methods are a compromise, and it will never be totally invisible. Acrylic rods - being plastic - are not very stiff, so you will need a larger dimension of rod to support your model compared to brass or carbon fibre. You will be able to find brass tubing in most modelshops, and you may even use carbon fibre rods that I think people use to make kites. If you mount the rod in the fuselage away from the centre of gravity for a more dynamic pose, then it is important to prevent the model from rotating, so a square piece of rod will be best. Alternatively, look at some of the in flight models on this site from Rhinolover (I think that's his name) - they're gorgeous and the way they are supported and displayed is worth a look. Several times

Jens
__________________
Knees together for parts, knees apart for knives!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread October 28th, 2010, 10:19 PM
rhinolover's Avatar
rhinolover rhinolover is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 104
Default Here is what I do...

Thanks for the compliment Jens.

I use cut acrylic stands and they seem to disappear when cut and photographed correctly. The acrylic is 3/16" thick and are inserted into notches in the base and the underside of the model. Some of my inflight displays...


















Last edited by rhinolover; November 3rd, 2011 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread November 7th, 2010, 03:55 AM
Jon Kunatz's Avatar
Jon Kunatz Jon Kunatz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 314
Default

I once picked up this display stand from Hobby Lobby. It is for all intents and purposes an upside down tripod made of clear acryllic.
It works great for inflight displays. I use mine for my Blacksheep 1 Starfury.
I need another one for my Colonial Viper Mk2....but I cant find the durned things anymore.
__________________
"Pi r*2.....I thought Pie are round."

http://th01.deviantart.com/fs6/300W/..._PeeEssPee.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread November 9th, 2010, 12:13 AM
Jon Kunatz's Avatar
Jon Kunatz Jon Kunatz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 314
Default

Found it!!...Cool!

http://www.flightpose.com/
__________________
"Pi r*2.....I thought Pie are round."

http://th01.deviantart.com/fs6/300W/..._PeeEssPee.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread November 18th, 2010, 04:04 PM
Maverick's Avatar
Maverick Maverick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern Norf Cackalacky
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to Maverick
Default

wow, rhinolover, i'm in awe of your skills and creativity.

Jon, thanks for the link, i'm looking into that now.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread February 26th, 2011, 02:49 AM
petebuilt petebuilt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 104
Default Not the greatest pic, but here's what I've done in the past.

Wall mount plaque type display.
Model is supported by an off set piece of brass rod.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread July 1st, 2011, 07:27 PM
Colin K's Avatar
Colin K Colin K is offline
Not an Admin Anymore
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 3,088
Default

Quote:
Thanks for the compliment Jens.

I use cut acrylic stands and they seem to disappear when cut and photographed correctly. The acrylic is 3/16" thick and are inserted into notches in the base and the underside of the model. Some of my inflight displays...
Do you have any photos showing how you cut the slots for your inflight displays? Do you have to add any plastic or brass insode the model to recieve the cut acrylic?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread July 1st, 2011, 09:41 PM
Aggressor's Avatar
Aggressor Aggressor is offline
Lose sight,lose the fight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Las Vegas NV
Posts: 2,104
Default

I'm doing an in flight right now and in using a piece of .125 carbon fiber square rod that fits into a piece of plastic square tube embedded in the fuselage. Durangokid is doing one as well and has good pictures of how he did it. I have yet to use acrylic stands like Rhinolover but would like to try.
__________________
The ultimate revenge, is success.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread July 11th, 2011, 10:09 AM
bushande bushande is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 231
Send a message via Skype™ to bushande
Default

I like using smaller polystone bases and a welding rod.
They are heavy and strong enough to hold even larger 1/32 Models, you don't do too much harm to the model itself, i.e. whenever you decide to put it on the ground again or whatever you can easily fill the little hole in the fuselage and the rod may be not invisible but thin enough to not divert too much from the model.

This is a 1/32 Vandy with full load and it sits firmly on the wire without any stability problems.


Depicting a launch or drop could be solved like this:
(also a 1/32 model)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread January 14th, 2012, 03:07 PM
Gervais8 Gervais8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 52
Default

bushande,
Where/how do you mount the rod? Is that just a regular welding rod?
Thanks
RG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.