Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums

Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums (http://zone-five.net/index.php)
-   Aviation Photography Q&A (http://zone-five.net/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   How do you cut out part of a picture in Photoshop? (http://zone-five.net/showthread.php?t=17114)

strikeeagle801 October 12th, 2011 04:51 PM

How do you cut out part of a picture in Photoshop?
 
Hey all

I've got PS Elements 9, and I've got several shots that I took last week where I was toward the max range of my lens, and so there is quite a bit of background (tarmac, runway, field, etc) in the picture as well as the plane. Is there a way to cut out the background/foreground so that I can focus more on the aircraft and still keep it at a "standard" size? Here's an example of what I'm talking about. I want to cut out the tarmac on the bottom of the pic, but I need to keep the background and the plane in a stadard pixel size (like 2:3, 3:4 for example) so that I can up-load the finished pic to Airliners.net or something similar. I've not done any editing to this pic, just so you know.

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o...1/IMG_2394.jpg

Niko@inScale October 12th, 2011 05:49 PM

For "croping" the images, you can use the tool "crop" in the Adobe tool bar.

http://s40.radikal.ru/i090/1110/7f/dc9a148b4792.jpg


But the free program Fast Stone Image Viewer is very good if you want to perform the lossless crop of image. Press x key or right click on image -> Edit -> Crop Board.

At the bottom, you will see the "Paper Ratio:" and from the drop down menu just chose the ratio you want eg. 3:2 or 4:3. When you set what you want to keep on the picture, just press down right button "Lossless Crop to File" and you will have cropped photo the way you want and without losing nothing in quality.

http://s017.radikal.ru/i443/1110/19/3d14a99b212d.jpg

But for photos like this one, you will definitely need some editing (I have quickly edited your photo) to get something like this:

http://s001.radikal.ru/i196/1110/b3/f213afff169f.jpg

strikeeagle801 October 12th, 2011 06:58 PM

Thank's Nico. I guess more what I want to do is cut the tarmac out of the picture completely, and then crop what is left. I've tried all of the different "standard" crop sizes from the drop-down menu (3x5, 4x6, 5x7, etc) and can't get it to look right doing that. I tried the "no restriction" crop tool as well, but when I submitted it to airliners.net (another pic, not the 747 I posted here) they rejected it because it was not in a standard size.

Did I explain that any better?

Aaron

Niko@inScale October 12th, 2011 07:41 PM

So the problem is Tarmac... So you wanted to do something like this then... I suppose!

http://i068.radikal.ru/1110/e0/edc0356a9ecb.jpg

http://s017.radikal.ru/i411/1110/96/4e9b9fc1e459.jpg

http://s003.radikal.ru/i202/1110/8a/31736c20da7b.jpg

Or if you have a problem to do that, send me the original photo and I will edit for you if you want and crop the way you want!

strikeeagle801 October 12th, 2011 07:47 PM

Yes, but I'd like to have the whole plane in-frame.

Aaron

Niko@inScale October 12th, 2011 07:54 PM

Well, you can do that as well, but you will have to substitute the tarmac with something. Your photo is 3:2, so only standard format you can use to fulfill your request would be 16:9 (the widest "standard" format) and it gonna look like this:

http://s016.radikal.ru/i337/1110/e3/1cbb667355f0.jpg

But be careful, Adobe crop tool give you ratio in mm or inch. As I say, the best is to get the Fast Stone and to do that. In FS you can chose ratio.

strikeeagle801 October 12th, 2011 08:36 PM

Thank's for your help. I'll look into FS and play around with it. The tarmac is gone in your edit, but now I think the problem may be too much background. A.net is anal about having too much anything, anywhere besides the aircraft. So much so, that I have all but given up submitting things to them.

Aaron

John B October 14th, 2011 04:03 AM

Umm... "newby" question, so I apologize up-front if it sounds stupid - "Why is it desirable to get your pics accepted by airliners.net and why is it so difficult to submit?"

strikeeagle801 October 14th, 2011 12:08 PM

Good question John...One that I've not really figured out myself. It just seemed like a way to get my pics published where people can see them (I'm a long way away yet, but I'd like to get a website or something in the future) but they are so up-tight w/the standards (and so inconsistant) that it is getting to the point that it is not worth it for me. Dave Brown told me about airfighters.net, and I may start submitting my pics to them.

Aaron

Sabre Freak October 14th, 2011 01:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John B (Post 181816)
Umm... "newby" question, so I apologize up-front if it sounds stupid - "Why is it desirable to get your pics accepted by airliners.net and why is it so difficult to submit?"

Quote:

Originally Posted by strikeeagle801 (Post 181846)
Good question John...One that I've not really figured out myself. It just seemed like a way to get my pics published where people can see them (I'm a long way away yet, but I'd like to get a website or something in the future) but they are so up-tight w/the standards (and so inconsistant) that it is getting to the point that it is not worth it for me. Dave Brown told me about airfighters.net, and I may start submitting my pics to them.

Aaron

And here I thought you guys took pictures because you both seem to have such spectacular bad luck with finale clear coats....

(I kid, I kid)

(and yes...I'm probably going to modeling forum hell for that crack)

David F. Brown November 18th, 2011 07:03 AM

Aaron,
AIRFIGHTERS is much more user friendly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.